MC University

  About University
icon About University
icon From VC's Desk
  Governing Bodies
icon Management Council

Senior journalists Umesh Upadhyay and Vijay Manohar Tiwari to be given awards in programme to be organised by MCU 

Prize distribution ceremony of Pratibha-2017 to be held on the occasion of Baba Saheb Ambedkar's birth anniversary 

Bhopal, 11th April, 2017: The prestigious Ganesh Shankar Vidyarthi Samman Samaroh of Makhanlal Chaturvedi National University of Journalism and Communication will be held on April 14, 2017 at Ravindra Bhavan. On the occasion, Ganesh Shankar Vidyarthi Samman will be given to senior journalists Shri Umesh Upadhyay and Shri Vijay Manohar Tiwari for the year 2014 and 2015 respectively. Renowned litterateur Shri Narendra Kohli and chairman of National Scheduled Caste Commission, Shri Nandkumar Saay will be chief guests of the programme, organised on the occasion birth anniversary of Baba Saheb Ambedkar. Lecture will be held on 'Practical approaches for inclusive development of deprived section and media and literature for harmony in society' in the programme. Prize distribution ceremony will be held for the university's annual culture and sports event Pratibha-2017 there. 

Makhanlal Chaturvedi National University of Journalism and Communication has established Ganesh Shankar Vidyarthi Samman for establishing and preserving values through Indian language journalism, truthful investigation, public advocacy, deep social attachment and exemplary creative contribution. The award is given not for one creation or achievement. Rather it is given for life time achievement. Shri Alok Mehta, Shri Rajendra Sharma, Dr Nandkishore Trikha, Shri Rambahadur Rai, Shri Ramesh Naiyyar, Shri Madanmohan Joshi and Shri Shyamlal Yadav have been awarded it. Rs two lakh cash and citation are presented as part of the Samman. 

Shri Umesh Upadhyay, who has been chosen for the award for the year 2014, is a renowned journalist having experience in every field of media in last three decades, anchor, communication expert and educationist. Shri Upadhyay has worked with PTI (Bhasha), Doordarshan, Zee TV, Home TV, Zee News, NCNL, Sub TV, Janmat and Network-18 and other institutes on important positions. At present, Shri Upadhyay is working as president and media director of Reliance Industries Ltd. Also, he is General Council member of the university and executive council member of Indian Institute of Mass Communication. 

Shri Vijay Manohar Tiwari, chosen for the award for the year 2015, is known for presenting different colours of India after travelling to 20 states eight times in 20 years long span in journalism life. He is also known as a writer. 'Priy Pakistan', 'Harsood June 30' and 'Bharat Ki Khoj Main Mere Panch Sal' are his books.